

RESET AND LAUNCH2023 ILA YOUTH EXCELLENCE AWARDS AGENDA

Irving Oil Auditorium, 5257 Morris Street

ORDER OF EVENTS

Host — Sidney Idemudia, ILA Past Executive Director1:00 p.m. Arrival & Youth STEM Demonstrations

1:30 p.m. Opening Prayer

Reading by Wayn Hamilton

Welcoming Remarks (video/spoken remarks from Asher

Trim-Gaskin)

1:35 p.m. Remarks from Invited Guests

1:40 p.m. Guest Speaker: Dr. Camille Wardrop Alleyne

2:10 p.m. Presentation of Awards

• ILA-TD Opportunity Scholarships

· Summer Student Research Scholarships

• Student of the Year

Mentor of the Year

• Graduating Mentors

2:25 p.m. Student Testimonial - Jesimiel Ugbebor

2:30 p.m. Stakeholder appreciation

Closing Remarks — ${\bf Dr.\ J.\ Pemberton\ Cyrus},\ {\bf ILA\ Chair}$

GUEST SPEAKER

Dr. Camille Wardrop Alleyne is an American aerospace executive, rocket engineer, space scientist, internationally acclaimed speaker, writer, educational leader and science ambassador whose accomplishments in the field of space exploration have been extraordinary. In the highly technical fields of science and engineering where women are underrepresented, she is one of the most recognized in aerospace engineering and one of the few women of color to serve in a senior leadership position at NASA.

Dr. Alleyne has had a 28-year career advancing the areas of aerospace and space technology development at NASA. She is a leading architect in the commercialization of space, enabling space economies in low earth orbit and on the moon and is the first African American to lead a major human space flight program at NASA. She is also an expert in the areas of space, science and technology application for sustainable development, specifically focused on developing countries.

Dr. Alleyne is renowned for her work on global STEM education for girls, which she does through The Brightest Stars Foundation founded in 2007. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from Howard University, a Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Florida A&M University, a Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Maryland, College Park and a Doctorate in Educational Leadership from the University of Houston.

Born in Trinidad and Tobago, Dr. Alleyne is a licensed Private Pilot whose accomplishments include being a Finalist in NASA Astronaut Selection Program.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Dr. J. Pemberton Cyrus (President and Chair)

Dr. Tim Bardouille (Secretary)

Dr. Claudette Bouman (ASP & VSP)

Dr. Barb Hamilton-Hinch (Treasurer)

Dr. Wilber Menéndez Sánchez

Mr. Patrick Nnoka (Student Alumni)

Dr. Rita Orji (FLL & Coding)

Ms. Brenda Riley (Parent Outreach) Mrs. Oluronke Taiwo (Scholarships)

Dr. Martin Tango

Ms. Jesimiel Ugbebor (Student Rep)

ILA OPERATIONS STAFF

Asher Trim-Gaskin, Program Director Benjamin Ofosu-Atuahene, Outreach and

Communications Officer

Wanda Colley, Finance and Program

Administrator

Mansita Njie, Provincial Program Coordinator

(EANSY)

Jeggan Gabriel Roberts, Logistics Officer (Winter

Co-op)

ASP & FLL MENTORS

Theresa Afi Jasiel Austin Isatou Badjie

Oluwadamilare Bankole

Jasmin Desmond Sohna Drammeh Amal Fashir Rhandi Ferguson Anastasia Forbes Niran Foster

Malayna Gero Mac Thyrvaal Girard Ibiene "Naomi" Ibiama Cadine Johnson Foster Maddin Laffin-Santiago David Mensah Kayler Mutyabule

Kayler Mutyabule
Afisemi Ngei
Uchechukwu Okereke
Oluwakemi Olarotimi
Faidat Olatunbosun
Oluwatobi Oshikoya
Kissel Phillips
Ariel Provo
Taja Scriven
Sungwoo Song

VSP MENTORS

Ikeoluwa Adebola Bello
Oluwatoni Agbaje-Ojo
Daniel Ahanonu
Carol-Joy Chevannes
Declon Desouza
Asma Eldlio
Daniel Etti
Shada Hamed
Maddin Laffin-Santiago
Glodin Mulali
Patrick Nnoka
Nour Obeid
Kamy Roberge Carrington
Jesimiel Ugbebor

ILA CODING MENTORS

Olashile Adebimpe Oluwatoni Adeniyi Bimpe Ayoola Chiyedza Mugavazi Temitope Onafalujo

















EANSY PROJECT

Marie Green, Regional Program Coordinator EANSY (Sydney) Tamiko White, Regional Program Coordinator EANSY (Preston)

Ibiene "Naomi" Ibiama, Social Media Specialist

Ruth Njilayi, Social Media Specialist

EANSY = Engaging African Nova Scotian Youth in Agriculture and Community Food Security Project

UNIVERSITY GRADUATES

Jesimiel Ugbebor, Mechanical Engineering (Co-op)

Jasmin Desmond, Psychology and SOSA Jeffrey Lyn, Electrical Engineering (Co-op)

Jasiel Austin, Mineral Resource Engineering (Co-op)

Monique Wright, Health Promotion

Theresa Afi, Master's in Applied Science (Civil Engineering)

SUMMER STUDENT RESEARCH SCHOLARSHIPS (SSRS)

SSRS (Computer Science), \$9100

Ivagba Omoikhekpen Scholar:

(2nd yr, Computer Science)

Supervisor: Dr. Eric G. Poitras

Research topic: Does Bridging Analogies on recursion

facilitate students' learning with

visualizations?

SSRS (Health), \$1625 (August 2023)

Scholar: Tobi Adeoye (2nd yr, Nursing)

Dr. Keisha Jefferies Supervisors:

Research topic: Negative experiences of African Nova

Scotians when accessing healthcare in rural

Nova Scotia

SSRS (Science), \$6500

Scholar: Hervé Kazungu

(3rd yr, Biochemistry and Neuroscience)

Supervisor: Dr. Paola Marignani

Research topic: Transcriptomic analysis of breast

cancer cell lines

SSRS (Medicine), \$5000

Scholar: **Nathan Barton**

(3rd yr, Microbiology and Immunology)

Supervisor: Dr. Francesca DiCara

Role of Metabolites in the Diet-Microbiota-Research topic:

Gut Brain Signalling with PEX5 Knockout in

Drosophila melanogaster

ILA-TD OPPORTUNITY SCHOLARSHIP

New Secondary-school scholars

Mojolaoluwa Akintokun (\$2,000)

Halifax Christian Academy, gr. 12

(one-time for 2023)

Ifeoluwa Akitobi (\$500)

Fairview Junior High School, gr. 7 (potential: \$5000/yr for four years)

Karema Alarabi (\$3000)

Ihsan Academy, gr. 11 (one-time for 2024)

Sarah Astatkie (\$2000)

Cobequid Educational Centre, gr. 12 (potential: \$2000/yr for four years)

Sara Bregaw (\$500)

Halifax West High School, gr. 10 (potential: \$3500/yr for four years)

Hayden Joseph (\$500)

Fairview Junior High School, gr. 7 (potential: \$5000/yr for four years)

Secondary-school scholars

Inioluwa Adara (\$1500), Sacred Heart School of Halifax, gr. 9

(potential: \$5000/yr for four years) Naomi Adebowale-Akinbulu (\$1000)

Astral Drive Junior High, gr. 8 (potential: \$5000/yr for four years)

Lemuela Ajuwon (\$3500), Sydney Academy, gr. 12

(potential: \$3500/yr for four years) Ebunoluwa Akitobi (\$1000) Fairview Junior High School, gr. 8

Tjasa Allen (\$4500), Halifax West High School, gr. 12

(potential: \$4500/yr for four years)

(potential: \$5000/yr for four years)

Marlon Vernon Carpenter Donovan (\$1000) Kings County

Academy, gr. 8

(potential: \$5000/yr for four years)

Obed Harun (\$3000), C.P. Allen High School, gr. 11

(potential: \$5000/yr for four years)

Ethan Metzger (\$2000), Halifax West High School, gr. 10

(potential: \$5000/yr for four years)

Tyra Obadan (\$3000), Sydney Academy, gr. 12

(potential: \$3000/yr for four years) Omolola Oshikoya (\$5000), CEC, gr.12 (potential: \$5000/yr for four years)

Charles Joshua Paris (\$4000), Halifax West High School, gr. 12

(potential: \$4000/yr for four years) Simisola Shodunke (\$1000) Dartmouth South Academy, gr. 9 (potential: \$4500/yr for four years)

Eve Wedderburn (\$5000), Citadel High School, gr. 12

(potential: \$5000/yr for four years)

Post-secondary scholars

Emtenan Al-Taher (\$4000), Nursing, Yr. 1

Elisabet Astatkie (\$2000), Industrial Engineering, Yr. 3

Mourisia Campbell (\$4000), Nursing, Yr. 1

Kareem El-Beshbeeeshy (\$4000), Electrical Engineering, Yr. 3

Rachel Lavers (\$4000), Biology, Yr. 1

Elsa-Kaze Twagirayezu (\$3000), Nursing, Yr. 1

STUDENTS OF THE YEAR

Junior

William Naetochukwu Ezumezu, gr. 6, Kings County Academy

Intermediate

Joe Johnson, gr. 8, Kings County Academy

Senior

Basirah Ashiru, gr. 10, Ihsan Academy

Honorable Mention

Na'eemah Salaudeen, gr. 4, Ihsan Academy

MENTOR OF THE YEAR

Taja Scriven, ASP Mentor















